Australia Day Honours Recipients

MPCCC congratulates the following leaders from our partner organisations for receiving 2017 Australia Day Honours awards, and for the contributions they have made to our community.

gary-richardsonA/Prof Gary Richardson, Head, Cabrini Monash Department of Medical Oncology

Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM)

Acknowledged and recognised for service to medicine, particularly oncology

For more than two decades, Associate Professor Richardson has practised privately at Cabrini and fulfilled leadership roles in cancer services. He provides leadership to an academic department that works to continually advance the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of cancer via a combination of research, education and clinical practice. As well as his Cabrini commitments, Dr Richardson is Associate Professor of Medicine at Monash University, Chairman of the Medical Oncology Group of Australia, President of Private Cancer Physicians of Australia and Director of Oncology Clinics Victoria. In 2001, Associate Professor Gary Richardson spearheaded the health promotion initiative Foundation 49: Men’s Health. It was conceived as the Tony Hitchin Foundation and later renamed to reflect that 49 per cent of the population are men. Associate Professor remains Chairman of its Council. Foundation 49: Men’s Health was established to improve the health status of men across each decade of life. Auspiced by Cabrini, Foundation 49: Men’s Health became part of Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute’s preventative health program in 2015 and continues to be sponsored by Cabrini.


Proevan-simpsonf Evan Simpson, Honorary Professor Hudson Institute of Medical Research

Member of the Order of Australia Award (AM),

Acknowledged and recognised for significant service to medical science, particularly in the field of breast cancer, as an academic and researcher

Professor Simpson is a world leader in the field of estrogen biosynthesis. His work has focused on the study of aromatase, the enzyme responsible for producing estrogen. His research led to the concept that oestrogen action in post-menopausal women is due to local production in sites such as the breast, bone and brain. This discovery spurred on the search for breast cancer therapies that specifically inhibit aromatase expression in the breast but spare other sites where it serves a critical role for other functions, such as in the bone, brain and blood vessels. Professor Simpson’s work also led to the creation of the first preclinical model for estrogen insufficiency, resulting in the discovery of new and unexpected roles for estrogens in both males and females, including bone metabolism in men. His current research is focused on the role of oestrogen in several important health conditions, including obesity, diabetes, osteoporosis and, of course, breast cancer.

dr-ranjana-srivastavaDr Ranjana Srivastava, Medical Oncologist and General Physician, Monash Health

Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division (OAM)

Acknowledged and recognised as an outstanding communicator seeking to explore and demystify the doctor-patient relationship

Dr Srivastava has authored four books and is a regular columnist for The Guardian Australia. She has been a health presenter on ABC Breakfast Mornings and now appears on RN’s Life Matters and as a co-host on ABC Melbourne on Jon Faine’s The Conversation Hour. Her first book, Tell Me the Truth: Conversations with My Patients about Life and Death, was shortlisted for the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Award. Her second book, Dying for a Chat: The Communication Breakdown between Doctors and Patients won the Human Rights Literature Prize. Her two books on navigating cancer, A Cancer Companion and After Cancer: A Guide to Living Well have received positive reviews. Dr Srivastava was educated in India, the United Kingdom, the United States and Australia. She graduated from Monash University with a first-class honours degree and several awards in medicine. She undertook her internship, residency and specialist training at various Melbourne hospitals. She joined Monash Health as a consultant in 2005. In 2004 she won the prestigious Fulbright Award, which she completed at the University of Chicago. She was admitted as a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians in 2005 and started practicing oncology in the public hospital system. In 2014 Dr Srivastava was recognised by Monash University as the Distinguished Alumni of the Year. She was also appointed an adjunct associate professor in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. Dr Srivastava was included in Westpac’s 100 Influential Women of 2015.


barbara-yeohMs Barbara Yeoh, Chair Monash Health since 2009.

Member of the Order of Australia Award (AM),

Acknowledged and recognised for significant service to public administration and to business, to community healthcare, and to transport organisations.

With more than 30 years’ experience as a director, Ms Yeoh has contributed to an extraordinary range of public and private sector agencies in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors. As a university graduate she worked with the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons undertaking research into the effectiveness of seat belts. This research led to Victoria being the first place in the world to make seat belts compulsory.  Ms Yeoh was the first Chief Executive Officer of VicFin (now Treasury Corporation Victoria), establishing and building the organisation as a major participant in global capital markets with a balance sheet of $17 billion within six years. Her exemplary leadership in healthcare governance was recognised with her appointment as Chair of the Council of Health Board Chairs Victoria in 2011. Ms Yeoh joined the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency – Agency Management Committee in 2014 and in early 2015, her inspiring influence as a role model for women was recognised when she was inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll for Women. In late 2015, Ms Yeoh was honoured at the CEO Magazine Business Leadership Awards as Chair of the Year, against a strong field of business and public sector nominees. As a highly respected board director today, her portfolio of responsibilities includes being the Independent Deputy Chair of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority Audit and Risk Committee, having served as Chair for six years and is Deputy Chair of the Victoria State Emergency Service.  Ms Yeoh has a strong interest in the arts and is an active supporter of the Arts in Health program at Monash Health. She is a strong supporter of the Hush Music Foundation, Monash Medical Orchestra and has served for five years on the Dame Nellie Opera Trust.